Text size A A A

2022 ACT Chief Minister’s Inclusion Awards

The ACT Chief Minister’s Inclusion Awards are an annual acknowledgment and celebration of the outstanding achievements of people with disability who are leaders in the community as well as the businesses, organisations, and individuals who have demonstrated their commitment to encourage, welcome, and support people with disability in their workplace, business, and community.

When assessing submissions, the Inclusion Awards Judging Panel award people with disability who are leaders in inclusion as well as the businesses, organisations, and individuals who are outstanding – going above and beyond their core business to create a more inclusive Canberra for people with disability.

Judging panel members include people with disability, Inclusion Council members, people with lived experience, sponsors and members of the Canberra business community who wish to become more disability aware.


Finalists for the 2022 ACT Chief Minister’s Inclusion Awards:

Category 1 – Recognising people with disability who are leaders in inclusion

Emerging Young Leader – Recognises a person aged 16-35 years with disability who is an outstanding leader in their community.

– Ella White-Wilkes, Empress Eyrie
– Charlotte Bailey, ACT Down Syndrome Association
– Nicole Stokes, ACT Education Directorate
– Luka Musicki, Department of Defence

Achievement in Inclusion – Recognises a person with disability who has over a long period of time (more than 10 years) made a significant personal contribution to creating an inclusive ACT community.

– Dan Sanguineti, The Academy of Interactive Entertainment and Bus Stop Films Canberra
– Juliette Robin, Special Olympics – Greater Canberra Club
– Laisarn Leong, Teacher of the Deaf

Excellence in Making Inclusion Happen – Recognises a person with disability who works to celebrate and enable people with disability to participate in the community and reach their full potential as equal and valued citizens.

– Megan Munro, visual artist and performer
– Liam Adams, Everyone Needs A Liam

Category 2 – Excellence and innovation in community access and inclusion

Inclusion in Employment – Recognises a business, organisation, or individual that has provided inclusive and innovative employment practices.

– The Brate Group
– Canberra Southern Cross Club
– GoBoat Canberra
– Green Technology Recycling
– Sarah Blackman, The Personnel Group
– Eastlakes Football Club
– Beyond Blue
– The Food Dispensary
– Daana Original Food Pty Ltd
– Ruby Barnett, St Vincent de Paul Society Canberra/Goulburn
– People and Capability, Transport Canberra and City Services

Inclusion in Education and Training – Recognises an educational and training organisation or individual either within the private sector or government funded that has provided exceptional or innovative educational or training opportunities for people with disability.

– Aimee Bott, Brindabella Christian College, Lyneham
– Grind to Ground
– Liz Lea and Chameleon Collective
– Bus Stop Films
– Belco Arts
– Apprenticeship Careers Australia
– AEIOU Foundation
– Sam Seton, ACT Education Directorate

Inclusion in Business – Recognises a business that has delivered exceptional or innovative services and facilities that empower and include people with disability and celebrate their contribution to the community.

– Functional Fitness
– Jonathan Laloz, Self Plus Plus
– Australian National Botanic Gardens
– Daydream Machine, Luke Ferguson
– Karen Hedley, Next Level Inclusion & The Easy Read Toolbox
– Jodie Stephenson, Kirribilli Partners
– RecycleAbilities

Excellence in Innovation, Design and Access – Recognises an organisation, team or individual who has demonstrated outstanding commitment to accessibility or innovation in design* to create greater inclusion for people with disability.

– Martina Johnson, Employ for Ability
– Caitlin Winter, Libraries ACT
– Tilly Davey, Hands On Studio
– ACT Corrective Services
– Elisabeth O’Daly, Advocacy for Inclusion
– Jessie Holberton, Canberra Health Services
– Michael Warylo, Canberra Health Services
– Access and Sensory Vaccination Clinic, ACT Health Directorate

(*Design encompasses inclusive design in the areas of art, building, architecture, landscape architecture, information technology, equipment and craft, or designing systems or processes).

Category 3 – Achieving inclusion through supporting the independence
and well-being of people with disability

Excellence in Inclusive Services and Disability Support – Recognises an organisation who has demonstrated excellence in providing services that promote inclusion and respond to the needs and aspirations of people with disability.

– Dr Vanessa de Kauwe, ‘Science Pirates & Science Alliance’
– Care Taxi Australia
– Hands On Studio
– Warehouse Circus
– Wellcare Australia
– Forward to the Future
– Richmond Fellowship ACT
– Abilities Unlimited Australia
– Alchemy Chorus
– Community Inclusion Program – St Vincent de Paul Society Canberra/Goulburn
– Shift & Co
– Canberra Netball Association
– Dinner with Friends, Ros Kewley
– Urban Land Community Harvest – Marymead
– ACT Down Syndrome Association

Excellence in Volunteer Support – Recognises an individual volunteer who supports people with disability who has shown outstanding dedication to empowering people with disability to increase their independence, enhance belonging in community and achieve goals.

– John Brookes, Canberry Communications
– Chrystale Langford, volunteer and founder of PartyPals
– Fiona Jarvis, Abilities Unlimited Australia
– Sarah Bhas, mental health connection volunteer

Excellence in Support Work – Recognises an individual support worker who has shown outstanding dedication to empowering people with disability to increase their independence, enhance belonging in community and achieve goals.

– AJ (Adrian) Vella, Employ for Ability
– Jerry Kirbell, Manmaid
– Patricia Falcetta, Social Living Solution
– Kayla Haycroft, Hartley Lifecare
– Adam Robinson, Hartley Lifecare
– Joanne Takiari, Richmond Fellowship ACT Inc
– Neville Gathercole, Greater Canberra Club Special Olympics ACT Golf
– Michelle Preston, Plan Partners
– XTend Yourself Coaching and Counselling

Lifetime Achievement in Supporting People with Disability – Recognises a person that has over a long period of time (more than 10 years) shown innovation and leadership in supporting people with disability to increase their independence, enhance belonging in community and achieve goals.

– Edwin Camporedondo, Kalinga Australia
– Derek Brewer, Panache Driver Training
– Matt Bush, Able Australia
– Thi-Nha Tran, Advocacy for Inclusion Board member
– Deborah Carrera, Neurospace
– Wendy Millar, Hartley Lifecare

Category 4 – Championing Rights Protection and Justice

Sue Salthouse Award for Championing Human Rights and Equality- Recognises an individual, organisation or service who demonstrates excellence in the promotion and fulfilment of human rights.

– Kerry Snell, Disability Reference Group member
– ACT Witness Intermediary Program Team
– Joanne Baumgartner, advocate for people with disability

Grand Award – ACT Chief Ministers Award for Excellence
Awarded to the most compelling, and impressive business, organisation, agency, department or individual as judged from the above award winners.


See the 2022 Winners here



The 2022 ACT Chief Ministers Inclusion Awards would not be possible without the generous support of our sponsors and partners.