Text size A A A

2023 ACT Chief Minister’s Inclusion Awards

The ACT Chief Minister’s Inclusion Awards are an annual acknowledgment and celebration of the outstanding achievements of people with disability who are leaders in the community as well as the businesses, organisations, and individuals who have demonstrated their commitment to encourage, welcome, and support people with disability in their workplace, business, and community.

When assessing submissions, the Inclusion Awards Judging Panel award people with disability who are leaders in inclusion as well as the businesses, organisations, and individuals who are outstanding – going above and beyond their core business to create a more inclusive Canberra for people with disability.

Judging panel members include people with disability, carers, Inclusion Council members, people with lived experience, Inclusion Awards sponsors and members of the Canberra business community.

Congratulations to the finalists for the 2023 ACT Chief Minister’s Inclusion Awards listed below:

Category 1 – Recognising people with disability who are leaders in inclusion

Emerging Young Leader – Recognises a person aged 16-35 years with disability who is an outstanding leader in their community.

  • Daniel Bartholomaeus
  • Muhammad Rahman
  • Erin Stewart

Achievement in Inclusion – Recognises a person with disability who has over a long period of time (more than 10 years) made a significant personal contribution to creating an inclusive ACT community.

  • Luka Musicki
  • Lauren Cannell
  • John Brookes
  • Patricia Falcetta
  • Sara Barker

Excellence in Making Inclusion Happen – Recognises a person with disability who works to celebrate and enable people with disability to participate in the community and reach their full potential as equal and valued citizens.

  • Wayne Herbert
  • John Brookes
  • Muhammad Rahman
  • Daniel Bartholomaeus
  • Dan Sanguineti
  • Carol Jennings

Category 2 – Excellence and innovation in community access and inclusion

Inclusion in Employment – Recognises a business, organisation, or individual that has provided inclusive and innovative employment practices.

  • Hubert Lamy
  • The Food Co-Op
  • Adrian Sturt
  • Brate Group McDonalds
  • Omnia Inclusive Employment Solutions
  • Peter Snell – Eastlake Football Club
  • Luka Musicki

Inclusion in Education and Training – Recognises an educational and training organisation or individual either within the private sector or government funded that has provided exceptional or innovative educational or training opportunities for people with disability.

  • Brate Group McDonalds
  • Dan Sanguineti
  • Derek Brewer – Panache Driver Training
  • Rebus Theatre
  • The Australian Training Company
  • Grind to Ground
  • Charles Weston School

Inclusion in Business – Recognises a business that has delivered exceptional or innovative services and facilities that empower and include people with disability and celebrate their contribution to the community.

  • Inclusive Volunteering Pathway to Employment Program
  • Social Living Solutions
  • Kate Hunter and Workforce Inclusion Team – Justice and Community Safety Directorate
  • Aqua Harmony
  • KBR Canberra
  • MSS Security
  • WaterWombats Aquatic Disability Services

Excellence in Innovation, Design and Access – Recognises an organisation, team or individual who has demonstrated outstanding commitment to accessibility or innovation in design* to create greater inclusion for people with disability.

  • Handmade Market Canberra
  • Rebus Theatre
  • Eat Speak Learn
  • I Dance – Liz Lea, Hanna Cormick and Matt Shilcock
  • Rights and Inclusion Australia
  • ACT Disability Reference Group
  • Music for Canberra
  • Susie Hines
  • Cheryle Henry

Category 3 – Achieving inclusion through supporting the independence
and well-being of people with disability

Excellence in Inclusive Services and Disability Support – Recognises an organisation who has demonstrated excellence in providing services that promote inclusion and respond to the needs and aspirations of people with disability.

  • Sexual Health and Family Planning ACT
  • AXM Exercise Physiology – Ben Basser-Silk
  • Brate Group McDonalds
  • WaterWombats Aquatic Disability Services
  • Nexus Human Services
  • Abilities Unlimited Australia
  • ACT Mental Health Consumer Network
  • Chamaeleon Collective
  • The With Friends Initiative
  • Community Inclusion Program – St Vincent de Paul Society Canberra/Goulburn
  • Yellow Bridge
  • Shift&Co

Excellence in Volunteer Support – Recognises an individual volunteer who supports people with disability who has shown outstanding dedication to empowering people with disability to increase their independence, enhance belonging in community and achieve goals.

  • Luka Musicki
  • John Brookes
  • Mijica Lus

Excellence in Support Work – Recognises an individual support worker who has shown outstanding dedication to empowering people with disability to increase their independence, enhance belonging in community and achieve goals.

  • Elizabeth Hickey
  • Enrique Esperas
  • Vendra Begonja
  • Monica Rukavina
  • Neil Wilkins

Category 4 – Championing Rights Protection and Justice

Sue Salthouse Award for Championing Human Rights and Equality- Recognises an individual, organisation or service who demonstrates excellence in the promotion and fulfilment of human rights.

  • Lauren Cannell
  • Guide Dogs NSW/ACT

Grand Award – ACT Chief Ministers Award for Excellence
Awarded to the most compelling, and impressive business, organisation, agency, department or individual as judged from the above award winners.



The 2023 ACT Chief Ministers Inclusion Awards would not be possible without the generous support of our sponsors and partners.